Initial Thoughts on Sensu, Indy’s Newest Restaurant & Club

4 Apr

I had the opportunity to check out Indy’s newest hot spot, Sensu, at their grand opening a couple Fridays ago. I’ll share my initial impressions, but stay tuned for a “true” review once they have been open for a few months.

Sensu's Main Bar

For those of you who haven’t yet heard of Sensu, it’s an Asian fusion restaurant in the evening that becomes a night club later on. Sensu is located in what used to be Have a Nice Day Cafe in downtown Indy. The first thing you notice when you walk in is that this is definitely not Have a Nice Day!

Downstairs Seating at Sensu

Epic Hospitality Group completely transformed the space into a swanky club that looks more like something you would find in Las Vegas or L.A. than in Indianapolis. Downstairs is the main bar, dance floor, VIP/private rooms and a 51 x12 foot video wall. Upstairs is for dining and lounging, with more seating, a sushi bar, and plenty of room for watching people on the dance floor below.

Private Room at Sensu

Due to the crowd, and perhaps some opening night mis-steps, I was able to sample only a few bites of food. What I did have was excellent. There were numerous sushi rolls and small bites like Spicy Tuna Poke on Crispy Wontons, Toast & Jam (shrimp toast with tuna jam), and Creamy Spicy Crab. There weren’t any menus, so I can’t comment on Sensu’s “Bang for Your Buck” value. But I will return and do a complete review soon.

Sensu's Spicy Tuna Poke on Crispy Wontons

Sensu's Toast & Jam

I can say that their drinks are priced on the high end, but the glasses are large and the pours are generous. I had the Great Pear Martini, made with Grey Goose Pear, Triple Sec, ginger syrup and lemon and lime juices. It tasted exactly like a frosty, juicy pear and I can’t wait to have another.

I’m looking forward to a complete meal (and another Great Pear) at Sensu sometime in the near future. Stay tuned!

Tasting Glenlivit with a true Scotsman at Sensu

One Response to “Initial Thoughts on Sensu, Indy’s Newest Restaurant & Club”

  1. Maurice Simmon February 7, 2012 at 9:21 PM #

    My family members all the time say that I am killing my time here at web, but I know I am getting experience all the time by reading such pleasant articles or reviews.

Leave a Reply

